Aussie Millions Amateur Takes Down Main Event, Ivey Wins a Third Title in the $250k Aussie Millions Amateur Takes Down Main Event, Ivey Wins a Third Title in the $250k
Aussie Millions - Kenneth Lim

The 2015 Aussie Millions is almost at an end with the winners of the Main Event and the $100k High Roller already decided—the AU$250k High Roller should end today.

In a boost to poker interest in Melbourne where the events are being held at the Crown Casino, Manny Stavropoulos, a local man, has won the Main Event. He is taking home $1.6 million for his victory over a field of 648 of the world’s top players.

Ivey Takes Down His Third Title

The LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge ended with none other than Phil Ivey holding all of the chips and capturing the AU$2.205 million first place prize, according to PokerNews. Ivey won the event in 2012 and in 2014 Making this his third victory in the event in four years.

Five players finished in the money out of a total of 25 entries. Mike McDonald, Doug Polk, Scott Seiver and Eric Seidel rounded out the list of those that cashed in the event.

Richard Yong Upsets the Professional’s Plans

The $100k High Roller saw a popular upset, as the professionals fell victim to businessman Richard Yong. Yong is a regular competitor at the highest stakes, and he will cherish a victory over a star studded final table.

Ole Schemion was the runner up, with Scott Seiver in third and Justin Bonomo in fourth. Erik Seidel piled up another big Aussie Millions payday with AU$500k for his sixth place finish.

Yong’s payday was AU$1.87 million, more than enough to cover the costs of his recent contretemps with US law enforcement.

He agreed a guilty plea for his involvement in the high profile sports betting case involving Paul Phua. Yong was required to forfeit $400k in property and pay a $100k fine.

Aussie Millions 2016

Immediately after the Main Event winner was crowned, the organizers announced the schedule for the 2016 Aussie Millions.

The 20 day schedule will start on 13 January 2016, and for the 18th straight year, all the events will be hosted at the Crown Casino in Melbourne.