The 2014 World Series of Poker Is Officially Underway The 2014 World Series of Poker Is Officially Underway

The 2014 World Series of Poker kicked off on Tuesday from the Rio All Suites Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The first two events showcased both ends of the poker industry, from the superstars that shine on the felt to the casino employees that make it all happen.

As is tradition, Event #1 was the $500 buy-in Casino Employee Event and 876 runners from casinos all over the world took their seats to battle for a piece of the over $394,000 prize pool.

Money Cannons

After a brief word from both Tournament Director Jack Effel and WSOP Executive Director Ty Stewart, the summer series got underway as $10,000 in $1 bills was launched into the air for the players to grab.

Notable names from the gaming industry, as well as members of the media, took their shot in the noon event but not all were able to survive the fast structure. Former PokerNews hostess Kristy Arnett, Bernard Lee, WSOP’s Ty Stewart and 2013 Event #1 winner Chad Holloway were all unable to make it through the day.

Those that did survive the day will return at 1pm PST to play down in a day that will award the WSOP gold bracelet along with the $82,835 first place prize.

Monster Field

In Event #2 the biggest names in the world of poker arrived at the Rio to participate in the prestigious $25,000 buy-in Mix Max event. Day 1, where the players play full-ring 9-handed, saw 131 runners pay the entrance fee into one of the most stacked tournaments of the year.

Daniel Negreanu, Phil Ivey, Brian Rast, Jennifer Tilly, Phil Laak, Vanessa Selbst and Sam Trickett are just some of the names in the constellation of stars that grinded late into the night in the famed Amazon room. Only a few names were unable to make it to Day 2 of this 4 day event, but among them, unfortunately, was Jean-Robert Bellande, Chino Rheem, Joe Cada and Sorel Mizzi.

Day 2 of the WSOP should prove to be just as exciting as the first non-No Limit Hold’em tournament is set to take place at 12:00 noon PST with the $1,000 Pot-Limit Hold’em event.