Nominate Who You Think Should Be in the Poker Hall of Fame Nominate Who You Think Should Be in the Poker Hall of Fame

It is that time of year again when the World Series of Poker is asking you to vote for who you think should be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame (PHOF) class of 2020.

Anyone wishing to nominate a poker player that they think should be inducted into the PHOF should do so before the end of Friday, December 11, 2020.

You can submit your nomination online here.

Anyone from any country is encouraged to nominate someone that meets the following criteria as laid out by the WSOP/ PHOF:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40-years-old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

For instance, last year Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim became the 57th and 58th individuals respectively to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. However, this year, there will only be one inductee similar to what was seen for most of the years in the 1980s and 1990s.

Sign up to today to get 7 $100 Freeroll Tickets and 100% First Deposit Bonus up to $1000 »

Finalists from 2019 that are still eligible for induction include: Chris Bjorin, David Chiu, Eli Elezra, Antonio Esfandiari, Chris Ferguson, Ted Forrest, Mike Matusow and Huckleberry Seed.

“The open nomination process on is meant to identify other worthy nominees to fill out the finalist ballot, which will include 8-10 individuals,” according to the WSOP.

Once the public have made their choices, a list of 10 finalists for 2020 will be selected by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. The finalists are due to be announced on December 16.

The final list of possible Hall of Famers then gets sent to the 32 living members to cast their vote.

The 2020 Poker Hall of Fame candidate will then be revealed to the public on December 30, 2020.

By this point the 2020 WSOP Main Event will be in its final stages, playing out heads-up live, at the Rio in Las Vegas.

Looking back on all the Poker Hall of Famers, here is the full list of the members and the year they were inducted.

Year Inducted Member
2019 Chris Moneymaker
David Oppenheim
2018 John Hennigan
Mori Eskandani
2017 Phil Ivey
David Ulliott
2016 Todd Brunson
Carlos Mortensen
2015 Jennifer Harman
John Juanda
2014 Jack McClelland
Daniel Negreanu
2013 Tom McEvoy
Scotty Nguyen
2012 Eric Drache
Brian “Sailor” Roberts
2011 Barry Greenstein
Linda Johnson
2010 Dan Harrington
Erik Seidel
2009 Mike Sexton
2008 Henry Orenstein
Duane “Dewey” Tomko
2007 Barbara Enright
Phil Hellmuth
2006 Billy Baxter
T.J. Cloutier
2005 Crandell Addington
Jack Binion
2004 Berry Johnston
2003 Bobby Baldwin
2002 Lyle Berman
Johnny Chan
2001 Stu “The Kid” Ungar
1997 Roger Moore
1996 Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell
1993 Jack Keller
1992 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston
1991 David “Chip” Reese
1990 Benny Binion
1989 Fred “Sarge” Ferris
1988 Doyle Brunson
Jack “Treetop” Straus
1987 Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson
1986 Henry Green
1985 Red Hodges
1984 Murph Harrold
1983 Joe Bernstein
1982 Tom Abdo
1981 Bill Boyd
1980 T “Blondie” Forbes
1979 Nick “The Greek” Dandolos
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok
Edmond Hoyle
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale
Johnny Moss
Red Winn
Sid Wyman