IGT/Entraction Bans Players from Australia, Spain, Belgium, Cyprus

IGT Network adds more 20 more country to its prohibited list, prevents residents from playing when within the borders.

The IGT Network, formerly Entraction, has expanded its list of blocked countries. Players from over twenty new countries, including Australia, Spain, Belgium and Cyprus, are no longer permitted to play on the site.

Entraction is know for its strict adherence to the legislation of countries, choosing not to operate in certain “gray market” industries. Last year, it blocked players from Turkey, Israel, Norway, Russia and, surprisingly, Canada.

Of the new additions this week, Spain and Belgium come as no surprise, as both have new online gaming regulations to which Entraction skins do not hold licenses. A new online gambling bill approved in Cyprus bans online casino and poker games.

The situation is less clear in Australia: Its Interactive Gambling Act 2001 prohibits businesses from serving Australian customers, though there are questions over its applicability to offshore businesses and there are efforts underway to liberalize the law.

The list of prohibited countries on IGT skins is now over fifty strong. Additions also include South Africa, China, Ivory Coast and Monaco. The network blocks account sign-ups from such countries and uses IP blocking to prevent customers accessing the network when within their borders.

Existing sites on the list include Denmark, France and Estonia. However, one notable omission from the blacklist is Italy: Despite being one of the largest and most well-established regulated online poker markets in Europe, IGT/Entraction apparently continues to allow Italian players without the network nor any of its operators holding a license.

IGT, who purchased Entraction and rebranded it at the beginning of the year, was one of the first to receive approval in Nevada for an online poker license.

Thanks to Damian Czarnecki for the tip!