pokerfuse online poker news

PokerStars dealt its very first real money online poker hands in 2001, and in the two decades since, it’s continued to expand its footprint in the US and abroad. Along the way, it grew into a veritable force to be reckoned with.

PokerStars was the very first operator to offer online poker in MI. However, it was soon joined by BetMGM Poker MI and WSOP MI later down the line, but the market-leader PokerStars has only continued to grow its presence in the state and further solidify its spot as our #1 online poker room in Michigan.

This status was further confirmed when the operator became the first MI poker room to share player pools across the state borders, creating a multi-state network with PokerStars NJ.

Given all these facts, it is not hard to see why it has been so successful. PokerStars is an operator that brings a lot to the table, especially for tournament players. If you enjoy playing large-field MTTs with big prize pools, PokerStars MI is the place to be at.

One of the most recognized online poker brands worldwide, PokerStars has built its stellar reputation for running some of the best tournaments in the world — including its flagship 'COOP and 'SCOOP and Bounty Builder brands. On PokerStars, you know you will find plenty of hot MTT and cash game action, all running on its top-shelf software for desktop users and one of the best mobile apps in the world. Perfected over many years, the PokerStars platform is second to none.

PokerStars is also known globally for being a company that prides itself on having one of the safest, most secure, and most reliable platforms anywhere. It constantly improves its technology to block bots and hackers looking to take advantage of players.

On this page, you will find an in-depth unbiased review of PokerStars Michigan, containing information about games on offer, bonuses, promotions, payment methods, and much more. Additionally, we bring answers to some of the most common questions about the operator.

PokerStars Michigan: Key Facts
Freeplay bonus$100 in casino and poker funds
Deposit match bonus100% up to $600 with code STARS600
AppsWindows, Mac, iOS, and Android
Main highlightBest tournaments

PokerStars MI Welcome Bonuses

Welcome Bonuses
4.5
Generous

The PokerStars Michigan Welcome Bonus is something that anyone considering playing on the site should know. When opening a new account, there are two ways for players to increase their bankrolls. However, only one Welcome Bonus can be claimed per account. So, we have broken down some details to help you choose which bonus offer is best for you.

$100 Free Play

PokerStars MI has upgraded its long-standing welcome offer for new players. You can now get $100 worth of free play as soon as you play a single real money cash hand.

The procedure is very simple. After opening an account with PokerStars, opt-in for the offer. After that, play just one cash hand at any of the tables and you will qualify for the bonus.

The bonus will give you a mix of casino funds, tournament tickets, and free spins, spread across six days, as follows:

  • Immediately after playing a qualifying hand: Two $5 Spin & Go ticket
  • Day 1: 50 free spins to use in a casino
  • Day 2: Two $5 & one $10 Spin & Go tickets
  • Day 3: $10 casino cash bonus
  • Day 4: Two $10 Spin & Go tickets
  • Day 5: $30 casino cash bonus

If this welcome offer by PokerStars MI seems interesting, it is important to note that you must opt-in for the promotion and meet the qualifying requirement (play one cash hand) within the first five days of opening the account. After that, the $100 free welcome offer will no longer be available.

All winnings resulting from the tournaments played using tickets are yours to keep with no restrictions or wagering requirements. Funds are added straight to your cash balance. Casino funds must be wagered through before you can make a withdrawal.

100% First Deposit Matching Bonus up to $600

If you plan on playing a fair amount of poker after you open your account, then perhaps the 100% Match First Deposit Bonus is the better choice for you. If you can fully clear this bonus and make the required deposits, you could end up with an additional $600.

To claim this bonus, you will need to make your first real money deposit with the exclusive PokerStars Bonus Code STARS600. The First Deposit Match Bonus actually applies to your first three deposits as long as you meet the following requirements:

  • Make your first deposit using promo code STARS600
  • Make up to two additional deposits (up to $600 in total) within the first 60 days, also using the promo code STARS600

To clear the bonus, you will need to earn redemption points. For every 140 redemption points you earn, you will receive $10 of your bonus. That works out to a 35% return on each dollar of rake and tournament fees you pay while playing.

You have 120 days to clear the entire bonus.

Depositor Freeroll Ticket

No matter which Welcome Bonus offer you choose, you will also a free ticket to the monthly Depositor Freeroll. This promotional tournament takes place on the last Sunday of every month at 18:00 ET.

You can check to see which bonuses you have in the My Stars section of the PokerStars lobby. It is important to verify that you have received the correct bonus so that you can try to rectify the situation in the event something does not look right. You will also find the expiration dates of your bonuses in this section, along with redemption point requirements and other relevant details related to your bonuses.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

PokerStars MI Bonus Comparison: WSOP vs PokerStars vs BetMGM

The PokerStars welcome offer is quite decent overall. It caters to serious players looking for a big bankroll boost as well as recreationals who can get a lot of free funds with very little risk. But how does it compare to what other operators in the state have in store.

WSOP MI offers a larger match bonus as you can get 100% up to $1000 on your first deposit. In terms of free funds, the room provides a $25 no deposit bonus for all newcomers, which is smaller than PokerStars’ $100, but it also comes with no requirements.

BetMGM Poker MI also offers a $1000 welcome bonus and up to $75 in tournament tickets. However, the room no longer features any free or easy-to-obtain bonuses, so PokerStars MI comes out ahead in that department, as anyone can get $50 in free funds after making just the minimum deposit and playing a single hand.

All in all, the PokerStars MI welcome bonus stacks up well against the competition. While the maximum match amount is smaller than what two other rooms have to offer, the operator’s interesting reward scheme more than makes up for the difference.

PokerStars MI Bonus Comparison

PokerStars MI WSOP MI BetMGM Poker MI
100% up to $600 OR 100% up to $1000 100% up to $1000
$100 free after single cash hand $25 completely free Up to $75 in tournament tickets

PokerStars MI: Overview

PokerStars MI became the first site to go live and offer real money online poker in Michigan, launching on January 29, 2021.

PokerStars brought legal, regulated online poker to Michigan as part of a coordinated launch, going live simultaneously with brandmates Stars Casino and FOX Bet Sportsbook in Michigan.

After the first year in the MI market, PokerStars stood out as the number one poker operator despite the competition from BetMGM Poker MI. PokerStars’ staple series the Michigan Championship of Online Poker aka MICOOP and the Michigan Spring Championship of Online Poker aka MISCOOP attracted a great number of players each year they’ve run.

On Jan 1, 2023, PokerStars MI combined its player pool with PokerStars NJ, creating a multi-state network featuring a large player pool and cash game traffic that makes it the absolute leader among regulated poker operators in the US.

PokerStars MI Promos

Promotions
3.8
Quite colorful

The operator offers a variety of promotions beyond the PokerStars welcome offer. The room hosts many Freeroll Tournaments giving players a chance to qualify for its major events, for example, and requirements to get into these are often easy to meet (get a promo code or make the minimum deposit during a certain period).

There are also Missions, which make playing at PokerStars more exciting and rewarding at the same time. These missions feature many tasks, from very simple ones (like being dealt a particular hand) to more challenging ones, like finishing first in a sit-and-go or winning a pot on a showdown with a particular hand.

By completing missions, you can get many rewards — tournament tickets, bonuses, and cash. The more challenging the mission, the better the rewards you can expect to get. These may not be of great value for serious grinders but they definitely add to the experience for casual players.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

PokerStars Rewards Program

Rewards
3.2
Good for casual

Stars Rewards is a personalized loyalty program that rewards players for their play on PokerStars MI. It provides extra value for real money players on the poker site and those that place wagers at PokerStars’ Stars Casino MI and at FOX Bet Sportsbook MI.

Each player will receive different amounts and types of Stars Rewards based on the games they play, but you will still want to make sure that you fully understand how the rewards system works to help ensure that you get access to the best rewards possible.

We have compiled the list of important information below to help you maximize your rewards.

  • Track your rewards through the My Stars section of the PokerStars MI lobby
  • You can earn Reward Points when playing real money games on the poker site or casino and placing wagers in the sportsbook.
  • Your Progress Bar shows how close you are to achieving your next reward.
  • Every Reward Point you earn will advance your Progress Bar.
  • When you complete a Progress Bar, you will receive a Chest that contains prizes such as Free Play and StarsCoins (the currency used by Stars Rewards).
  • The StarsCoin that you receive can be redeemed for PokerStars merchandise, electronics, and tournament tickets at the Rewards Store. You can even convert your StarsCoins into cash!

Rewards Points

The amount of Reward Points you earn is the basis of the number of rewards you receive. How many Reward Points you earn depends on things such as how frequently you play, which games you play, and your net deposits.

However, you can use the following general guidelines to estimate the amount of Rewards Points you will earn based on the games you prefer to play:

  • Poker: PokerStars MI — For every $1 you pay in rake and tournament fees, you will receive 100 Reward Points
  • Casino: Stars Casino MI — The number of Reward Points you earn at casino games will depend on which games you play. There are multiple rates at which Reward Points are earned depending on if you play slots, table games or video poker. See the Terms and Conditions available at Stars Casino to verify the number of Reward Points that your favorite casino games will yield.
  • Sports: FOX Bet Sportsbook MI — For single bets, you will earn 1.7 Reward Points for every $1 in wagers. If you place a multiple bet, you will receive 4.7 Reward Points for each $1 wagered.

Chests

When you complete a Progress Bar, you will receive a Chest. Inside will be a tournament ticket, StarsCoin, or a promotional item.

The color of the Chest you receive will determine the range of value of the rewards it contains.

There are six levels to the system that have corresponding colored Chests, and the higher the level, the greater the value of the reward you will find inside. The different levels and colors of Chests, along with the range of the rewards they contain, are:

  • Level 1: Blue Chests contain rewards from $0.36 to $6
  • Level 2: Bronze Chests contain rewards from $0.72 to $12
  • Level 3: Silver Chests contain rewards from $1.80 to $30
  • Level 4: Gold Chests contain rewards from $6 to $100
  • Level 5: Diamond Chests contain rewards from $15 to $250
  • Level 6: Black Chests contain rewards from $42 to $700

You can open a Chest up to three calendar months after you receive it. Any unopened Chests that expire will be lost.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

PokerStars Tournaments

Tournaments
4.8
World leader

Around the world, PokerStars has a reputation for hosting top-notch online poker tournaments, and the company has continued that tradition in the great state of Michigan.

There are a wide variety of tournaments to choose from at PokerStars MI, including popular formats such as MTTs (Multi-Table Tournaments), SNGs (Sit N Go Tournaments), and the newest tournament format, Spin & Gos.

MTTs (Multi-Table Tournaments)

Multi-Table Tournaments are one of the most well-known types of poker tournaments, as they are the type of tournaments that most people have seen on television. Combining player pools with PokerStars NJ gave the operator even more opportunities to create major events and series with big guarantees.

At PokerStars MI, you can find MTTs running around the clock. They are spread in buy-ins for almost all sized bankrolls and are available in a variety of different poker variants, including:

  • Hold’em
  • Omaha
  • 5-Card Draw
  • Stud
  • Badugi
  • Mixed Games

There is also a full slate of Sunday Majors at PokerStars MI. Sunday is perhaps the most popular day for playing MTTs, as the tournaments that run that day usually have the biggest prize pools.

If big prize pools are your thing, you will also find big tournament series running at PokerStars MI. During these series, which run several times a year (sometimes as frequently as once a month during the busy season), tournaments usually carry bigger guarantees. The total guaranteed during a typical tournament series regularly reaches $1 million in prize money.

While these tournaments typically have larger buy-ins, PokerStars MI runs satellites and qualifiers that allow players to win their way into these big-money tournaments for a tiny buy-in.

The Michigan Championship of Online Poker (aka MICOOP) was the first tournament series run in the state. PokerStars MI has also launched the Michigan Spring Championship of Online Poker (aka MISCOOP).

SNGs (Sit & Go Tournaments)

If the time you have to dedicate to playing online poker tournaments is limited, SNGs (Sit & Go Tournaments) may be right for you.

These tournaments are confined to a single table and are available in both No-Limit Hold’em (NLHE) and Pot-Limit Omaha (PLO). They are available 6-handed, which runs at Turbo speed, and heads-up, which runs at Hyper-Turbo speed.

Spin & Gos

Spin & Gos exploded in popularity a few years back because they gave players a chance to turn a small buy-in into a big payday in a very short amount of time while still maintaining the skill involved in poker.

Spins (as commonly called) are three-handed Hyper-Turbo SNGs with a random prize pool ranging from twice the buy-in up to 1000 times the buy-in. each player starts with 500 chips, and the blinds go up every three minutes.

Spins has five buy-in levels: $1, $2, $5, $10, and $25.

If you are lucky enough to join a Spin with one of the top three multipliers (1000x, 160x, or 80x), you are guaranteed to walk away with a payday as all three of the players in the tournament win prize. The second and third-place finishers get prizes equal to 8%-10% of the prize pool.

PokerStars MI Spin & Go buy-ins & prizes

Buy-in Min Prize Jackpot
$1 $2 $1000
$5 $10 $5000
$25 $50 $25,000
pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

Cash Games

Cash Games
4.4
Biggest Selection

PokerStars MI offers one of the widest selections of cash games available in the US.

No-Limit Hold’em (NLHE) and Pot-Limit Omaha (PLO) are the two most popular poker variants, and at PokerStars MI, these games are available at 6- and 9-handed tables. The stakes for NLHE and PLO range from the micro-stakes, which start at $0.01/$0.02 and go to $25/$50 at the high-stakes tables.

Cash games available at PokerStars MI are:

  • No-Limit Hold’em
  • Limit Hold’em
  • Pot-Limit Omaha (PLO)
  • PL Omaha H/L
  • Limit Omaha H/L
  • PL 5 Card Omaha
  • Limit Stud
  • Limit Stud H/L
  • Limit Razz
  • PL 2- 7 Triple Draw
  • Limit 2- 7 Triple Draw
  • 8 Game

Since the NLHE and PLO tables are the most popular, you should be able to find a game running no matter what day or time you look to play. This is especially true since Jan 1, 2023, as PokerStars MI joined forces with PokerStars NJ to bring one combined player pool, guaranteeing even better traffic across the board.

Still, if you are hoping to play some of the less popular games, you may have to visit the poker site on the weekends or during the evening when traffic in the cardroom is at its highest. That does not mean that the less popular games are not running at other times, but when there are fewer players online, you may need to play short-handed or wait for action.

Cash games & stakes at PokerStars MI

Game Type Min Stakes Max Stakes
No Limit Hold’em $0.01/$0.02 $25/$50
Pot Limit Omaha $0.01/$0.02 $25/$50
Mixed Games $0.25/$0.50 $100/$200

How to Sign Up at PokerStars MI

If you are new to PokerStars MI, the first thing you will need to do is create your account. This process will only take you a few minutes, and you will be ready to join the action immediately after. If you do not know how to start, just follow the simple steps below:

  • Visit the PokerStars MI website
  • Click on the green “Join” button in the top-right corner
  • Enter your email address, desired alias, and your password
  • On the next screen, fill in your personal details (name, surname, DOB, etc.)
  • Verify your account using the link sent to you in the email
  • Log into your PokerStars MI account
  • Navigate to the cashier to make your deposit and claim your welcome bonus

PokerStars Online Poker Software

Software
5.0
World class

Online poker software quality has a direct impact on the user experience. Because PokerStars is one of the most established and respected online poker providers in the world, you can count on the software to enhance your experience at the tables.

The PokerStars MI software is available for desktop users on the Windows and MacOS platforms. And its PokerStars App is available for Android and iOS devices.

In our years of experience covering the online poker industry, we have determined that there are three factors to consider when assessing the quality of online poker software. Those factors are functionality, reliability, and appearance. We review the PokerStars MI software based on each of the categories below.

Functionality

Having software that does not crash or freeze may seem like a low bar to set, but reliability is not something to take for granted when you have your hard-earned money on the line.

Functionality is also being able to load the software on your preferred device. As we pointed out earlier, the PokerStars MI software is available for both Windows and Mac computers and Android and iOS (Apple) mobile devices.

Besides having stable software available on the device you use, functionality is also a consideration when it comes to the design of the tables and the lobby. These are two of the areas of the software where being well-designed will enhance the player experience.

Readable text and graphics, easy-to-click buttons and sliders, resizable tables, and customizable controls are just some features that are highly rated on the PokerStars MI software.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

Reliability

Besides having stable software, it is also important for the backend servers to properly connect you to your table, as disconnections can cost you a lot of money and could even cause you to go on tilt which could cost you even more money.

And though some disconnections are inevitable, the reliability of the system will have a direct impact on the satisfaction of the player.

The PokerStars software has been around for two decades, with some of the best tech people in the industry contributing to what is one of the best online poker platforms in the world.

Even the experience garnered by PokerStars when disconnections happened played in its favor because it allowed them to develop fair and balanced well-document policies to deal with disconnections when they occur.

Appearance

The PokerStars software also boasts some of the best graphics, animations, and sounds in the industry. The quality of the visual experience at the tables puts PokerStars on par with some of the more popular non-poker games.

Players can also customize the appearance of the software using one of its many preset themes, or they can change the appearance of individual aspects (such as felt color, card backs, and background) to create a truly custom experience.

Click here to quickly and easily download the PokerStars MI app »

PokerStars MI Mobile App

Michigan players can enjoy action on the go thanks to the state-of-the-art PokerStars MI mobile app. This is arguably the best poker mobile app available in the state, so if you spend a lot of time playing on your phone, this is an additional reason to go with PokerStars.

You can download the app from official stores for Android and iOS so the whole process is very simple. It will take you a couple of minutes and as soon as the app is installed, you will be able to log in with your existing details or create a PokerStars MI account if you do not have one already.

You will have access to all the cash games and tournaments available on the platform as well as banking options through the mobile app interface. The app allows you to play up to five tables at the same time (max. four cash game tables), and it features a very good alerts’ system to ensure you never miss action when it is your turn to act on any of the tables.

Banking

Banking
4.5
Fast & secure

PokerStars MI offers a variety of options players can use to fund their accounts and withdraw their winnings. The minimum deposit amount is just $10, so you do not have to break the bank to build your bankroll here.

Regardless of what method you pick, your sensitive financial information will be fully protected. PokerStars MI utilizes high-level encryption protocols when transferring the information between the player and the server, making it virtually impossible for this information to get into the wrong hands. As far as handling customers’ funds goes, the operator adheres to very strict rules set up by the regulator, so you can rest assured your money is always safe.

In the table below, you will find all the payment options currently supported by the operator.

Payment Method Deposits Withdrawals
MasterCard Yes No
Visa Yes No
Paysafecard Yes No
PayPal Yes Yes
Skrill Yes Yes
Bank Transfers Yes Yes

Players have access to responsible gambling tools, which allow them to set deposit limits and otherwise maintain a higher level of control over their transactions.

PokerStars keeps all player deposits in segregated accounts, separate from operational accounts, so your money is protected at all times.

PokerStars MI Safety & Fairness

Michigan Gaming Control Board LogoFully licensed by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, PokerStars MI provides a very safe and reliable online poker platform. The operator must conduct business in line with stringent rules and regulations imposed by the operator and designed to protect players from any shady practices.

This means that games on the site are completely fair and random, governed by an independently-tested random number generator. You do not have to worry about hands being rigged when playing at PokerStars MI.

It is important to note that only players physically present within Michigan borders are allowed to access real money games on the client. To ensure this, the operator performs geolocation checks, whether you play from a phone, PC, or a laptop. You should not try to find the way around these and play from outside Michigan as this could lead to your account being closed and create even bigger legal issues.

FAQ

Is PokerStars Legal in Michigan?

Yes! Michigan passed legislation regulating all forms of online gambling, including casinos, sports betting, and online poker, in December 2019. PokerStars became the first operator to offer online poker games in the state, launching on January 29, 2021.

Playing on PokerStars MI is completely legal and in line with the current state and federal laws. The poker site operates under a valid gaming license from the Michigan Gaming Control Board, so you can be assured that your play on the site is safe and secure.

Is There a PokerStars App?

Yes! To download and install the software, you simply need to visit the PokerStars MI site and download the desktop software or the mobile app for your OS.

The entire process is very simple and straightforward and should take no more than a few minutes to get set up and into some real money online poker action.

Is PokerStars MI Safe?

Yes! The state regulators ensure that every operator meets the strictest requirements for safety and security so that you — and all your information — are kept safe.

All operators are also required to provide a suite of responsible gambling tools to help players mitigate potentially harmful gambling behaviors.

Do I Have to Be Physically Present in Michigan to Play on PokerStars?

Like with other states where PokerStars is operational (New Jersey, Pennsylvania), players do need to be physically present within Michigan state borders to log in and access the games.

You can open an account from outside of Michigan, but you will need a US-based address and Social Security Number. You do not have to have an address in Michigan, but you will only be able to play real money online poker games while physically present in the state.

Other important conditions you will have to meet to play for real money are:

  • You must be at least 21 years of age
  • You must go through the electronic account verification process

Is There a PokerStars No Deposit Bonus or Depsoit Bonus?

PokerStars Michigan offers two bonuses for new players. The first one does not require a deposit, but you must play at least one real money raked hand at any stake. This will give you $100 worth of free funds (for both poker and casino) issued over several days. To qualify for this offer, you must opt in from your account and play the qualifying hand within the first five days since registering your account.

There is also a more traditional first deposit bonus, whereby you can claim a 100% boost to your deposit of up to $600. Use the code STARS600 when making your first deposit and you will receive a 100% matching bonus in your deposit amount.

Your first three deposits (up to $600) are eligible for this bonus offer as long as you use the proper bonus code with each deposit and they are all made within 60 days of your first deposit.

The bonus is released in $10 chunks, every time you accumulate 140 redemption points.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

How Do I Cash Out at PokerStars MI?

You can cash out via Skrill, PayPal, and direct bank transfers for withdrawals.

What Cash Games Does PokerStars MI Offer?

PokerStars in Michigan offers cash games, multi-table tournaments (MTTs), Sit & Go tournaments (SNGs), and the popular Spin & Go jackpot tournaments.

The room features an excellent range of game variations across their cash tables. Besides No-Limit and Limit Hold’em, you can also play:

  • PLO
  • PLO 8
  • Seven-Card Stud
  • Limit Omaha
  • Limit Omaha 8
  • Razz
  • Stud 8 or Better
  • 2-7 Triple Draw (Pot Limit and Limit)
  • Razz
  • 8-Game

Can players in Michigan play with PokerStars players in other states?

Michigan joined the MSIGA in 2022, paving the way for the operators to combine their player pools with rooms operating in other states in the agreement. On Jan 1, 2023, the operator combined its player pool with PokerStars NJ, which means that PokerStars players from Michigan and New Jersey can now play together in the same cash games and tournaments.

PokerStars MI Tournament History

PokerStars Michigan has been very active in the online MTT department, hosting many big and smaller series since its arrival in the market. Below, I summarize some of the most important moments.

October 2021 Michigan Classic

In October 2021, PokerStars MI brought back its popular Michigan Classic event, which had its debut in April of the same year. The event took place on October 24, featuring a buy-in of $300 and a guarantee of $250,000. Surviving players from the first day came back on Monday, October 25, to find the winner.

The tournament attracted 808 entries, so the tournament fell short of meeting the guarantee, but that was good news for the 111 players who made the money.

The eventual winner walked away with $42,420 for their efforts.

September MICOOP 2021 Breakdown

The Michigan Championship of Online Poker, aka MICOOP, returned to PokerStars MI for its second iteration. The series ran from September 10 – 27, featuring a schedule of 68 tournaments and a total guaranteed prize pool of $1.5 million.

By the time the last tournament wrapped up, players were richer by close to $1.8 million, so the second MICOOP exceeded expectations, although it could not come close to the first iteration of the series, which generated over $2.2 million in prize money.

With over 18,600 entries, 2021 MICOOP tournaments met and exceeded the guarantees in all but nine instances. As for the Main Event, it attracted 632 entries, which generated a prize pool just shy of $180,000 – $30,000 over the $150K guarantee.

MISCOOP 2021 Breakdown

In 2021, the first edition of the MISCOOP exceeded expectations, breaking guarantees, and setting a record for the largest online tournament series in Michigan.

The series saw 120 events with a guaranteed prize pool of $2 million across the board. By the time it was all said and done, the guarantee was handsomely exceeded, as the series ended up paying over $2.3 million in prizes.

There were over 40,000 entries across all events, and the Main Event generated a prize pool of $243,880. Overall, the first-ever MISCOOP was an enormous success for the operator.

Other tournament series that PokerStars has run in Michigan include its Bounty Builder Series, Winter Series, and Summer Stacks.

pokerstars mi
Last verified: Feb 2023
Our #1 Rated Online Poker Room in Michigan
100% deposit bonus up to $600!
  • Play one hand & get $100 in casino & poker funds
  • Home of the MICOOP
  • Fast-paced Spin & Go action
  • #1 Rated Michigan online poker room by pokerfuse.com

MI Summer Stacks Series 2021

During the month of June 2021, PokerStars USA launched a coordinated tournament series across all three regulated sites. The series was geared more toward recreational players, with all buy-ins in the sub-$100 buy-in range.

Players in Michigan played in 100 different tournaments. A majority were regular Hold’em events, but PokerStars MI threw in 16 PKOs and 11 non-Hold’em events for good measure. The total prize pool for the series was a cool $1,000,000.

The Main Event featured a buy-in of $100 and a guarantee of $100,000. By the time the registration was closed, that guarantee was broken, courtesy of 689 entries and 535 reentries, for the final prize pool of $112,363.

Although the operator struggled to meet the guarantees on the first two weekends, things picked up speed on the last weekend, so the Series was an overall success.

Champions Preseason Series

Between August 13 and 23, PokerStars MI is running a Champions Preseason series in Michigan with $300,000 guaranteed in prizes. The $200 buy-in Main Event takes place on August 22 and players can enter the tournament directly, win their seats via satellites, or even get in for free via a special depositors’ freeroll. The tournament offers 30 entries to the Main Event, and to qualify for it, you need to make a deposit of at least $30 using the bonus code CHAMPIONS.

Latest PokerStars MI News

PokerStars Launches (Then Pulls) Zoom Poker on its MI-NJ Shared Liquidity Network
PokerStars Launches (Then Pulls) Zoom Poker on its MI-NJ Shared Liquidity Network

The operator’s fast-fold ring game product, Zoom Poker, finally launched on PokerStars’ new shared liquidity network spanning New Jersey and Michigan.


PokerStars' Inaugural Shared Liquidity Series' Epic Opening Weekend
PokerStars’ Inaugural Shared Liquidity Series’ Epic Opening Weekend

PokerStars first-ever NJ-MI series is off to smashing success, doubling guarantees over the weekend to generate more than half a million in prize money.


PokerStars PSPC Online in Michigan, NJ and PA: Here's What You Need to Know
PokerStars PSPC Online in Michigan, NJ and PA: Here’s What You Need to Know

It’s going to be big! Two series — one in PA, the other spanning MI and NJ, the first of its kind — promises a combined $4 million, the largest ever to be hosted by the PokerStars US network.


PokerStars Combines Online Poker Player Pools in New Jersey and Michigan
PokerStars Combines Online Poker Player Pools in New Jersey and Michigan

PokerStars launches multi-state shared liquidity in the US – a historic moment for online poker in the US. The operator successfully combines PokerStars NJ with PokerStars MI into a single network.


PokerStars Only Operator Authorized for Multi-State Poker, MI Regulator Confirms
PokerStars Only Operator Authorized for Multi-State Poker, MI Regulator Confirms

WSOP and BetMGM, the two other licensed online poker sites in Michigan, have yet to be approved by the regulator for multi-jurisdictional online poker.


PokerStars Unveils Promo Celebrating MI-NJ Shared Liquidity
PokerStars Unveils Promo Celebrating MI-NJ Shared Liquidity

PokerStars US rings in the New Year with its first combined player pool tournaments for New Jersey & Michigan players. On top of guarantees, every player will get free Casino Bonus cash, up to $50.


PokerStars NJ & MI Resume Service, Prepare for US Multi-State Online Poker
PokerStars NJ & MI Resume Service, Prepare for US Multi-State Online Poker

The two PokerStars US sites are back up after planned server maintenance. The upgrade was carried out to enable shared liquidity between New Jersey & Michigan.


PokerStars Teams Up with Detroit Red Wings to Skate Past Rivals
PokerStars Teams Up with Detroit Red Wings to Skate Past Rivals

In its first-ever partnership with a US professional sports team, PokerStars looks to bring excitement & promos to its players in Detroit & across the Mitten State.


PokerStars Confirms Merger Between NJ & MI “in Coming Weeks”
PokerStars Confirms Merger Between NJ & MI “in Coming Weeks”

A two-day major server upgrade will take place on PokerStars NJ & PokerStars MI clients from Dec. 12 to 13 to prepare for shared liquidity between the two states.


25 Days of Christmas: Win Merry Daily Rewards on PokerStars US
25 Days of Christmas: Win Merry Daily Rewards on PokerStars US

Online poker players in NJ, PA, & MI can win daily rewards & cash prizes via different challenges offered on the PokerStars US Christmas Advent Calendar.